Multiple DUI in Kissimmee
Is this your second or third DUI offense?
Getting arrested for DUI is frightening, but when you're arrested for
a second, third or fourth DUI offense, the odds are stacked against you.
There is something you can do about it and the
Kissimmee DUI attorneys at Melendez Law Offices, P.A. want to help!
Our attorneys not only care about the citizens of our community, but we
know how important it is to protect peoples' constitutional rights
in DUI cases. DUI cases are unique because they not only involve the criminal
justice system, but they involve biological, scientific and physiological evidence.
So many DUI cases hinge on the officer's objective opinions and these
opinions can be especially damaging if the defendant has a prior DUI conviction
on the record. When law enforcement and prosecutors are determined to
convict you, we're here to fight them every step of the way!
Penalties for DUI
Below is a basic summary of the
penalties involved in Florida DUI convictions.
First DUI Offense
- A fine of $500 to $1,000 (up to $2,000 with a blood alcohol level (BAL)
of .15% or higher)
- A license revocation for 180 days to 1 year
- Mandatory 50 hours of community service
- Probation – not more than 1 year
- DUI school
- Up to 6 months in jail (with BAL of .15% or higher or minor in vehicle:
up to 9 months)
- Impoundment or vehicle immobilization for 10 days
Second DUI Offense (within 5 years)
- A fine of $1,000 to $2,000 (up to $4,000 with a BAL of .15% or higher)
- Minimum 5 years license revocation
- DUI school
- Up to 9 months in jail (with BAL of .15% or higher or minor in vehicle;
up to 12 months)
- Impoundment or vehicle immobilization for 30 days
Third DUI Offense (within 10 years)
- A fine of $2,000 to $5,000 (up to $4,000 with a BAL of .15% or higher)
- Minimum 10 years license revocation
- DUI school
- Between 30 days and 12 months in jail
- Impoundment or vehicle immobilization for 90 days
Will you be ordered to install an ignition interlock device?
Section 316.193 requires that ignition interlock devices (IID) be installed
on the vehicles of certain people convicted of DUI, at the DUI offender's expense.
- First conviction: if ordered by the court.
- First conviction with .15% or above, or minor in the vehicle: minimum 6 months.
- Second conviction: minimum 1 year.
- Second conviction with .15% or above, or minor in the vehicle: minimum 2 years.
- Third conviction: minimum 2 years.
- Four or more convictions: minimum 5 years.
Contact Melendez Law Offices, P.A. today!
If you've been arrested for a second or subsequent DUI offense in Kissimmee,
Orlando, or anywhere else in Central Florida, we can help. Time is of
the essence, so
contact our office right away to schedule your
free consultation with a member of our legal team. We also offer Spanish-speaking services!
We all have rights - todos tenemos derechos.